Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Very confused........

Well for the past almost 6 months I have been told that I have adhesions around my fallopian tubes and who knows were else. The doctors were lead to believe this based on my HSG report. I also have a history of post op infection from c section and an ectopic pregnancy last march.
So......I went to CCRM in colorado for my one day work up and to have surgery....laporoscopy and hysteroscopy to clean out adhesions and possibly remove ectopic tube. Our one day work up was on Monday April 13, 09. I was a little nervous for it because I did not know what to expect. My husband and I are "not there yet" in our minds with IVF, but the doctor thought we should do it since we thought I had a tubal factor of infertility. Everyone there was very nice. The other thing that was a little crazy for my husband and I is that they we learned everything about the IVF cycle that most of the staff thought we were ready to start....they didn't realize we were having surgery the following day. So were we a little deer in the headlights. ...but I am glad we went through it. All our tests came back great.....no antibodies for my husband towards himself and none for me towards him....my blood flow through uterus was great.....resting follicles were 10......communicles all clear and good. SA great for my hubby, execpt for increased viscosity, nothing a little tussin can't take care of......and then we met with the Doctor!

He was able to review my HSG that had been done locally last October.....He did not think that I had a hydrosalpinx in my ectopic side, but couldn't tell me for sure if it was open. He said the left was open......then he said HSG's are NOT good indicators of adhesions!!!!!! I was like what that is why I am here....all my docs were I live have been telling me my tubes are trashed!!!! Which has really not been good for my pysche. sp? AT aLL.

He actually gave me the option for surgery.......of course I said yes! thinking my tubes are trashed ....right!
Well on the 14th I had surgery and guess what they found!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOTHING.

Doc said I have good and bad news for you.......
good being you have NO adhesions, NO endo, and he said the ectopic tube looked great and was open from the outside.
BAD news being.........now we have NO clue why you are having trouble getting pregnant.

With all that being said..........besides shock....I am not sure how I feel.
I know I should be very happy and I am .......but it is just a weird feeling......to have thought for so long that something was wrong in there and then to find out it is just fine. Mentally...I am still trying to convince myself it is okay in there.

My next step......
To recheck my thyroid.......I need something to obsess about of course.
CCRM said my TSH is a little high in the fertility world......it was 3.99.
I am having my TSH and free T4 rechecked this friday at my local post op appt and will have my post op/ re group phone call with Dr. Surrey next monday. I am super curious what he will say. He did say that conservative treatment my not work for me since it has not already...three IUIs with clomid all bpn. but all those times I thought my tubes were trashed. Maybe mind of matter now??? he did say it is more likely the IUI work in the first three times, but it still could work on more trys....I think I would give it one or two more tries..........maybe I need to switch to injectables......but not sure that would help as I am not having any ovulation problems. Little concerned with having more than 2 at a time. So we will see......a lot to think about. I do feel that some of the stress is gone since we have not tried for a month or two.......it is nice not to think about it all the time.
Anyone have any info about the thyroid please share!!!!!!!
thanks for listening .........

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for sharing these blogs, for more information about Infertility and Fallopian tube treatment
    kindly visit the link
    https://www.sriramakrishnahospital.com/fallopian-tube-recanalization/

    ReplyDelete