Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Very confused........

Well for the past almost 6 months I have been told that I have adhesions around my fallopian tubes and who knows were else. The doctors were lead to believe this based on my HSG report. I also have a history of post op infection from c section and an ectopic pregnancy last march.
So......I went to CCRM in colorado for my one day work up and to have surgery....laporoscopy and hysteroscopy to clean out adhesions and possibly remove ectopic tube. Our one day work up was on Monday April 13, 09. I was a little nervous for it because I did not know what to expect. My husband and I are "not there yet" in our minds with IVF, but the doctor thought we should do it since we thought I had a tubal factor of infertility. Everyone there was very nice. The other thing that was a little crazy for my husband and I is that they we learned everything about the IVF cycle that most of the staff thought we were ready to start....they didn't realize we were having surgery the following day. So were we a little deer in the headlights. ...but I am glad we went through it. All our tests came back great.....no antibodies for my husband towards himself and none for me towards him....my blood flow through uterus was great.....resting follicles were 10......communicles all clear and good. SA great for my hubby, execpt for increased viscosity, nothing a little tussin can't take care of......and then we met with the Doctor!

He was able to review my HSG that had been done locally last October.....He did not think that I had a hydrosalpinx in my ectopic side, but couldn't tell me for sure if it was open. He said the left was open......then he said HSG's are NOT good indicators of adhesions!!!!!! I was like what that is why I am here....all my docs were I live have been telling me my tubes are trashed!!!! Which has really not been good for my pysche. sp? AT aLL.

He actually gave me the option for surgery.......of course I said yes! thinking my tubes are trashed ....right!
Well on the 14th I had surgery and guess what they found!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOTHING.

Doc said I have good and bad news for you.......
good being you have NO adhesions, NO endo, and he said the ectopic tube looked great and was open from the outside.
BAD news being.........now we have NO clue why you are having trouble getting pregnant.

With all that being said..........besides shock....I am not sure how I feel.
I know I should be very happy and I am .......but it is just a weird feeling......to have thought for so long that something was wrong in there and then to find out it is just fine. Mentally...I am still trying to convince myself it is okay in there.

My next step......
To recheck my thyroid.......I need something to obsess about of course.
CCRM said my TSH is a little high in the fertility world......it was 3.99.
I am having my TSH and free T4 rechecked this friday at my local post op appt and will have my post op/ re group phone call with Dr. Surrey next monday. I am super curious what he will say. He did say that conservative treatment my not work for me since it has not already...three IUIs with clomid all bpn. but all those times I thought my tubes were trashed. Maybe mind of matter now??? he did say it is more likely the IUI work in the first three times, but it still could work on more trys....I think I would give it one or two more tries..........maybe I need to switch to injectables......but not sure that would help as I am not having any ovulation problems. Little concerned with having more than 2 at a time. So we will see......a lot to think about. I do feel that some of the stress is gone since we have not tried for a month or two.......it is nice not to think about it all the time.
Anyone have any info about the thyroid please share!!!!!!!
thanks for listening .........

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Yikes...I have already messed up!

Well as you know I am super new to this blogging thing and have already messed up. I accidently took someone else's blog addresses. (and feel terrible about it) I have finally figured it out and I believe fixed the problem. ...or at least I really hope. I was so excited to get started and day one I made a mistake. yikes.....a lot to learn I guess. bare with me. thank you

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

April Fools..........

I was hoping that if I started a blog I would all the sudden come up with an incredible entry into blog world....well I am frantically typing while my almost 3 year old is eating breakfast...watching Clifford....strapped in her high chair. Thank god for high chairs....will tell you more about that later. This blog will be about our journey through secondary infertilitly.....it all began Oct of 2007. Will begin with my history......

1. married my hubby sept 04 in MEXICO!!!!!!!! what an incredible time of life.
2. went off bcp sometime in 2006.
3. after about 4 months of ttc ....found out I was prego!
4. after a very easy pregnancy had my daughter 3 weeks early....had to have a c-section ...she was breech! she weighed in at 5 lbs 15 oz....small but perfect.....came home on mothers day! what a blessing
5. had a post op infection from c section....it was superficial and "not that bad" only had a little redness, but it persisted for about 3 weeks.
6. enjoyed my peanut ......what a wonderful baby!
7. started to ttc agian oct 07
8. pregnant again found out in feb 08....took about 4-5 months again.
9. march of 08 had some right sided pain.....thought I was having a appendicitis.......hubby made me go to doc becuase we were leaving for new zealand in two days!
found out I had an ectopic preg. trip canceled and I got two shots of methotrexate (ouch) in my ass. ....although I should metion I consider myself "lucky" because my tube did not rupture......even though I was "lucky"......I was very very distraught.
10. it took months and months for my beta to drop to under five. had multiple occasions were it plateaued and I just wanted surgery to "be done with this". had to have a second round of methotrexate (ouch again)......
finally my beta was "4". I started my folic acid again.......and waited.
11. started ttc again in Aug 08.....no luck..........
12. got an HSG done in Oct of 08..........thought this would be my answer.
HSG revealed open left tube that spilled, but the dye loculated around the end of my fallopian tube indicating some mild adhesions. on the right side (ectopic side) my tube did not fill at first, but after more dye it filled and they "think" it spilled....but also had some adhesions on this side....probalby worse.
13. doc said try for a couple months and come back in your don't get prego in 2-3 months.
14. went back to doc and started clomid dec 08
15. First clomid and IUI DEC 25th!!!!!!!! I was praying for a christmas miracle. bpn
16. same thing jan, feb, march. bpn.
17. had all my infertility workup in this period.........tested good, execpt progesterone....they think I may have luteal phase defect....my progest.. rose nicely, but dropped on cd 24 to 5. (something)
so I also started prometrium.....lucky me.
hubby did SA......with outstanding results. ....execpt viscosity is high....he is on the tussin.
18. after 3ed failed IUI they recommended a lap.
19. decided to go to CCRM in denver, as they do not have an RE here in Bozeman. did a phone consult in March 08 and scheduled surgery for
April 14. One day workup is April 13th. If anyone has any comments or are familiar with CCRM would love to know.
20. did ttc this month.......maybe a miracle will happen...but I am not holding my breath.
emotionally this has been such a rollercoaster.........as many people out there know. I would not wish this on anyone. I have tried to be so patient......but this has definitley tested me as a person, as a wife, and as a mom.